Junior Olympics



Canoe Kayak Junior Olympics in Colorado 2007

featuring whitewater slalom, wildwater racing, freestyle, boater cross, and lots more fun ...

What are the Junior Olympics?


Check out http://whitewaterracing.org/2007juniorolympics.htm as the Junior Olympic event details unfold,

including paddling opportunities, schedule, registration forms, volunteering, homestays, plus lots of bloggin'.



Chuck Hines Cup awarded to whitewater racing clubs like yours:



Colorado's Durango Whitewater

Colorado's Front Range Paddling Association

Georgia's Atlanta Center for Excellence

Maryland's Bethesda Center of Excellence

Maryland's Valley Mill

North Carolina's Nantahala Racing Club

New York's Cascade Falls Racing Team

Pennsylvania's Mach One

More US & Canadian whitewater racing clubs are here



The Chuck Hines Cup is 1st and 2nd place trophies awarded to the two highest-scoring U.S. whitewater paddling clubs at the Junior Olympics.  A scoring system of 5-3-2-1 points in each of the official Junior and Cadet categories (three boats make a class) are awarded to the top four boats in each class. In 2006, a River Meister Cup was dedicated to the memory of Ray McLain of Green Bay, WI for his outstanding contributions to whitewater youth development, through his dedication, mentoring and coaching of aspiring juniors and cadet paddlers for many decades.  Thank you Ray, you are truly missed.


Here are the past whitewater racing club results:


2001: 1st place Nantahala Racing Club & 2nd Mach One

2002: 1st place Mach One & 2nd Atlanta Center for Excellence

2003: 1st place Nantahala Racing Club & 2nd Atlanta Center for Excellence

2004: 1st place Nantahala Racing Club & 2nd Front Range Paddling Association

2005: 1st place Nantahala Racing Club & 2nd Mach One

2006: 1st place Mach One & 2nd Front Range Paddling Association

2007: Your whitewater racing club!


In 2003, Chuck Hines started the "Youth Leadership Award" presented to people who have contributed to youth paddling and racing over a period of 10 plus years.   Wayne Dickert of the NOC/NRC, a founding member who helped get whitewater slalom included in the Junior Olympics, was the first honored recipient in 2003.  Dave Kurtz received the award in 2004 during the Junior Olympics in South Bend, Indiana.  

Dave Kurtz has been involved with youth paddling and racing for over five decades.  Dave has introduced hundreds of young people to the thrills of whitewater canoeing & kayaking, first through the Boy Scouts Explorer Post 32, then the Penn State Outing Club, the CCA C-CATS trips, and most recently with Mach One racers who continue to train at home in PA, and travel for competitions with Dave across the USA and abroad.  In addition to being a member of the World Championship Teams during the 1960s, his enthusiasm for whitewater sport has contributed so much to youth development spanning many years.

 Dave Kurtz photo courtesy Scott Savage


Mike Larimer of Atlanta, GA earned the 2005 Youth Leadership Award for his work coaching junior and developing racers for 20 years.  Mike was a member of the World Championship Team in C2 the late 1980s, and competed in the top US ranks through the 1992 Olympic Trials. Narrowly missing the Olympic Team, Mike focused his love of the sport and volunteer energy on coaching and developing junior racers who had dreams of making the Team some day too.  Mike has coached and mentored several dozen outstanding young, junior-level athletes that have grown to become members of our Olympic, Junior and Senior National Teams.  Mike was also a National Team coach during, and leading up to the 1996 Olympics on the Ocoee River in TN.  He has devoted thousands of hours sharing his love of whitewater sport with our youth of the future.   

Eric Giddens with Coach Mike Larimer on the Ocoee River in 1996



More Youth Leadership Awards to:

Tom Long of Idaho in 2006

Ben Kvanli of Texas in 2007


Junior Olympics in the News


Kayakers qualify for Junior Olympics Durango Herald July 21, 2005

Junior Olympics 2004 Photos


Copyright Maximum Whitewater Performance 2008

This website and all content within are property of MWP unless otherwise noted
 Questions regarding this website
contact us
http://www.daveyhearn.com     Last updated: February 26, 2008